RIP, A Sellout and a Liar

I was sad to read the obituary today of Ron Asheton. Ron was the guitarist for Iggy Pop and the Stooges. Ron was rated by Rolling Stone magazine as the 29th greatest guitarist of all time. Rolling Stone said he was a thug guitarist. They also commented, “he never let not really knowing how to play get in the way of a big, ugly feedback solo. This spring, Asheton joined Iggy and the other Stooges for their first gigs in nearly thirty years. He still sounds like a thug.”

Rip Ron RIP

I grew up listening to the Stooges albums of the late 60’s and early 70’s.  I loved all of those bands out of Detroit/Ann Arbor  like the Stooges, the MC5, Bob Seger System, the Up, the Frost, Cub Koda and Brownsville Station, Grand Funk Railroad, ? and the Mysterians, the Woolies, Mitch Ryder and the Detroit City Wheels and Terry Knight and the Pack. I believe the MC5 and Englands the Clash to be the greatest bands of all time. To me those two bands did music that really politically mattered.

Michigan’s Alice Cooper’s 1971 song, “I’m Eighteen” meant a lot to me because in 1971 I was eighteen and could relate to the lyrics.

“I got a
Baby´s brain and an old man´s heart
Took eighteen years to get this far
Don´t always know what I´m talkin´ about
Feels like I´m livin´ in the middle of doubt
Cause I´m eighteen
I get confused every day
Eighteen
I just don´t know what to say
Eighteen
I gotta get away.”

In 1971  I was in college thinking I should drop out because I had no idea what I wanted to do. I was worried what my draft number was going to be and whether I’d end up in Vietnam. So you can see why the lyrics to, “I’m Eighteen” hit home with me.

The rest of Coopers music turned out to be a bunch of comic book horror shit that has never spoke to me other than “Lost in America” years later.

Cooper dismissed all of the great 60’s music that tried to make a better world.  He has said, “We were into fun, sex, death and money when everybody was into peace and love. We wanted to see what was next. It turned out we were next, and we drove a stake through the heart of the Love Generation”.

Yep, Alice was just one more sell out into it for the money and peace and love was something to destroy. Alice got into opening restaurants and playing golf with Republican politicians and celebrities. While he puts on a demonic persona he is a born again Christian. I have noticed that sometimes when  folks are born again they tend to suffer brain damage during the re-birth. I suspect that is what happened to Alice as he called musicians who supported John Kerry in 2004, “traitors against the ethos of rock itself.” Am I the only one who doesn’t tend to think of Rock and Roll and get images of Republicans? Further proof that all those years of alcohol and drug use destroyed Cooper’s cerebellum loaf were proven in 2008 when he “described Republican vice presidential candidate Sarah Palin as “a breath of fresh air.”

I’ve heard folks like Rush Limbaugh attack celebrities like Sean Penn and Brad Pitt for going to help victims of Katrina. Why can’t we get folks like Rush and Alice that support warmongers like G W Bush to go fight in the wars the politicians they supported started? Alice could see some real horror and Rush could take a wound  as he’s already full of Oxycontin. When G W started this war would-be actor Bruce Willis called, G W and asked to be sent to fight in Iraq. Some real war instead of the reel war he is use to would have knocked that stupid smirk off of Bruce’s face. Bruce who is the worst actor of all time (yes even worse than Keanu Reeves) did contribute to the war effort. It’s a little known secret that his films were used to torture detainees at Gitmo.

The great 60’s music Alice dismissed from fellow Michigander Bob Seger just as relevant today as when done in 1969: 2+2

From the same period Terry Knight and the Pack; Better Man

I have no problem with transgender people. That said I believe when Ann Coulter had her sex change instead of removing her penis they removed her brain. I saw her on with Matt Louwer this morning and she was defending scum like Joe McCarthy and Tom Delay. She is making the rounds as she has a new book out. It is of course fiction like all of her books. Here is a break down of some of the lies in her new book, “Guilty”: Liberal “Victims’ and Their Assault on America; Lies

About Rock and Roll: There are two kinds of artists left; those who endorse Pepsi and those who simply won’t. ~ Anne Lennox


3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “RIP, A Sellout and a Liar

  1. Bob

    You left Alvin Lee and Ten Years After out of your list of great Detroit bands. And I would add Gang of Four and Rage Against the Machine to the list of great political bands. From RATM (on how our misplaced military priorities fail to protect our families):

    “Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes,
    not need, just feed the war cannibal animal.
    I walk the corner to the rubble.
    That used to be a library. Line up to the mind cemetery now.
    What we don’t know keeps the contracts alive and movin’.
    They don’t have to burn the books they just remove ’em.
    While arms warehouses fill as quick as prison cells.
    Rally ’round your family, pockets full of shells.”

    Let’s see Alice Cooper or noted Detroit evolutionary throw-back Sweaty Teddy Nugent write anything that powerful.

  2. elecpencil

    Thanks for the comments Bob. I love Alvin Lee and Ten Years After but they’re from England. I’ve heard new tunes by Lee on XM Radio and they are quite good.

    I have some older Gang of Four albums and love them. I’m amazed at how many new bands have copied their guitar style

    I’ve read RATM lyrics and admire them but I can’t understand any of them when la Rouche screams them. It’s as if someone recited Shakespeare backwards what would be the point. I did see Tom Morello doing a solo gig and he was great!

    Other great political bands I like are: Midnight Oil, New Model Army and Spearhead. Happy New Year to the family!

  3. Bob

    Sorry. Detroit Diesel must have thrown me off.

Leave a Reply

