Trying to Harvest a Field of Dreams

The Elecpencil looks at issues in the world  from the point of what would be best for my children’s future. I think most parents tend to think along the same lines.

I know a big issue has been about whether our children will have the same standard of living as we baby boomers did. With jobs disappearing to the Third World at such an alarming rate it looks like we may soon be the Third World.  The jobs left have gone from decent paying industrial ones to lower paying service sector jobs. I can personally attest to that situation. The industrial jobs left now have second and third tier wages for the generations after the boomers.

Of course the things we want for our kids to lead a good life are not just about money but also about inheriting a cleaner environment, a world not at war and just being able to lead a happy life. I’m not seeing the country we live in planting enough seeds for our children to see a harvest of their, “Field of Dreams.”

I recently saw author, Douglas Rushkoff interviewed and thought he had some good ideas about our economy and a better way of life. I didn’t mention this to my son so I was surprised to get an e-mail from him saying, ” Dad I saw this guy on TV and liked what he had to say so check out this link.” I was happy to see my son and I both felt some sign of hope that someone was offering answers to some of our questions  about the future. As the Elecpencil has gotten older he has not found many answers in life only more questions. I have decided that being on a quest for answers is what life is about.

I give you the link for the nine part short videos my son sent me:

Life Inc. The Movie from Douglas Rushkoff

Drop me a comment and let me know what you think.

Todd Rundgren: New World Order

For the Want of a Nail

If voting changed anything, they’d make it illegal. ~ Emma Goldman

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

