Fish, Burgers, Toyotas, Lesbians, Heroes and Zeros

Mrs. Elecpencil and I had an excellent fried fish dinner last night. We ate at the University at Larchmont in Warren Ohio. For $10.00 you get a huge piece of battered fish, coleslaw and a roll. You can also pick either hand cut fries, macaroni and cheese or cabbage and noodles. They also have great wings and sandwiches. The University became a favorite when we previously lived in Warren for over a dozen years.  I give them an honorary degree in bar food as you won’t find much better. Let me know who has your favorite bar food.

I learned about a group you might be reading about in tomorrow’s, Youngstown Vindicator. They consist of five guys called, the “Mahoning Valley Burger Review Board” (MVBRB). They go around our valley about once a month and pick different restaurants, to sample burgers at.  You can “ketchup” on what they loved so far at their site. I “relish” their community spirit, and rate them five stars for helping to promote our valley. Send them an e-mail asking them to sample your favorite area burger palace.

Speaking of food here is information on what might turn out to be the biggest food recall in history. Check to see the list of products.

Talking about recalls I have to mention Toyota. Here is a list called, the “Road to Recall” if you have a Toyota and want the time line of facts. As a labor activist I prefer this story about workers at Toyota that told management about safety concerns in 2006.

As someone who worked in industry for three decades I know the average worker cares about the product he makes and takes pride in it. The worker is thinking that if he makes a good product maybe he’s got a job for life. Management cares about how many products they can squeeze out the door and how much money can be made, today.

I have not been sold on the health care plan. I favor a public option or extending Medicare to all. I have found something that now makes me want to get any health care plan immediately passed. That being because Rush Limbaugh said if the health care bill passes he’ll move to Costa Rica. The irony is that Costa Rica’s health care system is government funded, with the option to purchase private insurance. Many drugs are available in Costa Rica without a prescription, and pharmacists can easily and accurately diagnose and treat many common problems. I guess Rush found out Oxycontin can be easily had. I am only hoping Rush will take Hannity and Glen Beck with him. Sure with Rush gone conservatives will be down one hypocrite commentator but I’m sure some other conservative will step up to the task.

Let me go from talking about American zeros to American heroes. A hero of mine, Doris “Granny D” Haddock passed away at age 100. Granny D exposed the problem of influence-peddling in Washington to Americans by walking from coast to coast for campaign finance reform at the age of 90. When she completed her 3,200 mile journey she made a speech at the Capitol steps. She invoked the “brave spirits” of Arlington cemetery, “Did you give your lives for a government where we might stand together as free and equal citizens, or did you give your lives so that laws might be sold to the highest bidder, turning this temple of our Fair Republic into a bawdy house where anything and everything is done for a price?” May all of us live a long and giving life as Granny D.

I just read this about a lesbian high school girl in Mississippi being denied to go to her prom with her female date. At my son’s high school prom four years ago a lesbian student wore a tuxedo, and brought another girl as a date. Everything went fine and our community was spared any wrath of God. I did have massive amounts of ice in my gutters this year but I don’t think it had anything to do with that prom four years ago.

Along the same lines is this story about the Catholic Church rejecting a preschooler admittance to school because his parents are lesbians. The Catholic Church just keeps giving me more and more reasons why I left it a decade ago.

In all fairness I must say that the lesbian parents should realize it’s not in their best interest to be Catholics, or let their child attend a school that is going to trash the child’s family lifestyle. In my younger days I would have said to fight the church from inside. I have learned about banks and corporations that are too big to fail. I now believe the Catholic Church is to too big to change.

I think people who believe in gay rights and birth control etc. are wasting their time in churches that want to live in the 14th century. There are other faiths that practice real inclusion for all. If you join other like-minded people you will do your family and your health a major blessing. I believe in boycotting businesses that don’t operate in my best interests and social justice values, I’d say the same for a church. The only way a company will reform is if you withhold your dollars, and I’d say the same can be said for churches. Nothing speaks louder than low sales and empty collection baskets.

Faith should be nourishing, not admonishing. If you really believe in God you want everyone to end up in Heaven as that is what God wants.  You don’t go around condemning others to Hell for their belief or if they worship a different god then you, or if they don’t worship a god at all.  Let’s just practice peace and love which will make this planet a heaven.  I’m sending out some peace and love so don’t be stingy and send a little back.

Music for all religions.

For Granny D: Heroes of America

Granny D quotes:  “I’m not against the corporations. They are our wealth. But they are getting too greedy. I don’t want to do away with corporations. I want them to make our cars, however, not our laws.”

“Love is about cooperation, sharing and inclusion. It is about the elevation of each individual to a life neither suppressed nor exploited, but instead nourished to rise to it’s full potential–a life for it’s own sake and so we may all benefit by the gift of that life.”


2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Fish, Burgers, Toyotas, Lesbians, Heroes and Zeros

  1. Especially enjoyed the paragraph about the MVBRB! ;) Thanks!

Leave a Reply

