Earth Day Under Attack

I’ve had some people asked me why I haven’t talked about or reviewed any restaurants or other businesses in our valley lately. I still want to do that but thought Facebook might be a better venue for that so I invite you to check out something I set up on Facebook called, “Mahoning Valley Citizen Promoters.” I invite you to check it out here and send things to that site promoting our wonderful valley.

Earth Day is April 22 so I think it is something we should reflect on. It started in 1970 and was created by U.S. Senator Gaylord Nelson from Wisconsin. He created the day after witnessing the ravages of the 1969 massive oil spill in Santa Barbara, California. The first Earth Day had over 20 million people participate.  It is now observed by more than 500 million people in 175 countries. It has become an entire week of activities focused on environmental issues.

The results of that first Earth Day helped set the United States on a path to protecting the Earth. We soon saw: The Clean Water Act, The Clean Air Act Extension, The Endangered Species Act, The Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act, Fuel Economy Standards for cars and several other environmental acts to protect the planet. Do you think everyone was happy with these acts for a better Earth? Wouldn’t you suppose corporations, the oil and gas industry, the tobacco companies, right-wing think tanks and the corporate toadies at the Chamber of Commerce would fight back? They did with the secret Powell Memo, lawsuits, lobbying, conservative appointments to an activist Supreme Court, propaganda and after decades total success with the Citizens United ruling that gave corporations personhood. I encourage you to go to this link which explains better than I can the history of where the infamous Citizens United decision came from and how we can fight to overturn it. I think it is one of the most important articles I’ve seen in a long time. I want to thank Rev. Ray for turning me on to Yes! magazine that had the article in it. I am including Yes! as a link on my blog under, “Well Worth Reading.” Happy Earth Day!

The Earth is My Church

From 1971 Freda Payne: Bring the Boys Home

After a visit to the beach, it’s hard to believe that we live in a material world.  ~Pam Shaw

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

