Get Out the War Paint

I’m happy to say (possibly to your chagrin) this is my 250th post!

The Warren Tribune Corporate Owned Rag Chronicle endorsed the Romney/Ryan ticket. The area needs jobs so the “Trib” picked a man who has made a fortune and a career out of eliminating jobs. The editor is so out of touch that the editorial page should replace the comic page.

The area buffoons of the week are Tracie and Jeff the black Republicans who have a talk radio show at WSOM in Salem, Ohio. They are buffoons because they think today’s GOP is the party of Lincoln that freed the slaves. The present GOP is a party that has many members who praise slavery as seen in these 10 examples. Tracie and Jeff it is time to set the alarm and wake up in 2012.

I ran across a study by Norton & Ariely, they look at the 2010 U.S. Census and past figures to see how we as Americans are doing. They have good news for a few of us and not so good news for the majority of us. From 1990 to 2005, the salaries of CEOs’ increased almost 300%, while production workers gained a scant 4.3%. The purchasing power of the federal minimum wage actually declined by 9.3%, when inflation is taken into account. When they compared the drop in wealth from the housing bubble collapse the median household lost more than the top 1%. The median household had a 36.1% drop in their wealth while the wealth of the top 1% of households dropped by just 11.1%. “In the United States, wealth is highly concentrated in a relatively few hands. As of 2010, the top 1% of households owned 35.4% of all privately held wealth, and the next 19% (the managerial, professional, and small business stratum) had 53.5%, which means that just 20% of the people owned a remarkable 89%, leaving only 11% of the wealth for the bottom 80% (wage and salary workers).  In terms of types of financial wealth, the top one percent of households have 35% of all privately held stock, 64.4% of financial securities, and 62.4% of business equity. The top ten percent have 81% to 94% of stocks, bonds, trust funds, and business equity, and almost 80% of non-home real estate. Since financial wealth is what counts as far as the control of income-producing assets, we can say that just 10% of the people own the United States of America.”

The wealthy can afford lobbies to buy “our representatives.” Once they own lawsmakers, we end up with trade bills that export U.S. jobs, tax laws that favor the rich and deregulation with lax laws on pollution for corporations. Then we have Supreme Court decisions giving corporations personhood so they can put unlimited funds in the war chests of politicians who will keep the 10% as owners of this country. “The cats they chase the rats, the dogs they chase the cats and the world keeps on turning yeah, yeah yeah.” Those are lyrics to a 70’s punk song about just accepting the way things are and living with it. I for one won’t accept or believe that the Founding Fathers envisioned a country where  the “Life, Liberty and Happiness” of its people would mean that the wealthiest 10% would own the country.

I am not supposed to mention the facts in this study or comment on it because the 10% that own this country will accuse me of being a class warrior. I plead GUILTY as charged of being a habitual class warrior. The Native Americans in this country lost everything as they did not have solidarity and some of their own braves turned on them and became scouts of the U.S. Calvary. I will continue to point out the traitorous Calvary Scouts among us and do whatever I can to build solidarity and I ask you to do the same. We need to take the country back from this 10%. It’s way past time to fight back………………………………………..now where did I put my war paint?

I worked on the following interactive poetry piece a few years ago. I wanted to do it somewhere like at the old Oakland Stage night where they could show a video of a Mercedes-Benz burning that I got from You Tube while I recited this poem.  I rewrote it from the a cappella song, “Mercedes-Benz” which was written by its singer Janis Joplin and poets Bob Neuwirth and Michael McClure. It was easier for me to just post this video of a Benz burning and post my poem.

 Fry Me a Mercedes-Benz

Oh Lord, won’t you fry me a Mercedes Benz.

My friends all brought torches the rich must make amends.

Worked hard all my lifetime, no help from trust fund dividends.

So Lord. won’t you fry me a Mercedes Benz.

Oh Lord, won’t you give us a Democracy.

Instead of this greedy corpratocracy.

We’re waiting each day to finally be free.

So oh Lord, won’t you give us a Democracy.

Oh Lord won’t you help the middle-class rebound.

I’m counting on you, Lord, please don’t let me down.

Prove that you love me and turn things around.

Oh Lord, won’t you help the middle-class rebound.

Oh lord, won’t you fry me a Mercedes Benz.

My friends all brought torches, the rich must make amends.

So oh Lord, won’t you fry me a Mercedes Benz.

That’s It.

Janis Joplin: “Mercedes-Benz”

“Down on Me”

“That’s why they call it the American Dream, because you have to be asleep to believe it.” ~ George Carlin

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Get Out the War Paint

  1. Sue

    Happy 250th post. I always look forward to your insights. Thanks Jim.

  2. elecpencil

    Thanks for the comment Sue. I wish I was getting paid because after 250 I’d ask for a raise. I’ve pushed myself to do one post a week. I wondered if I’d find enough to post that much. In the end I am deciding between several things each week. I’d like to inspire others to do this because if I can anyone can.

Leave a Reply

