What Would It Take?

  I ran into someone I know who took me to task I’ll call MC. He complained that I had called people like him soulless in my last post because they like to shop at Walmart or are a Sam’s Club member. MC is a union officer I respect so I was surprised he shops at these two dens of iniquity. I have preached the gospel of the evils of Walmart/Sam’s Club for years and I’m sure many people are tired of my spiel. Truth is I have convinced very few people not to shop at either no matter how many facts I show them. Most of these people are the nicest most caring folks you will find just like MC. They know many of the facts about Walmart’s evil and don’t care. It seems the pursuit of a bargain trumps the environment of our planet or anyone’s blood or death at Walmart’s hands. I didn’t have a lot of time to talk to MC so I asked him to think about one question and send me an e-mail when he has an answer. I asked him and I ask you what would it actually take for you to quit shopping at Walmart/Sam’s Club?

  I’d like to know that from anyone reading this. Send me a comment or e-mail as I am baffled given the wealth of information available about this corporation why anyone would enter their doors. They have discriminated against promoting women so why do women shop there? Why do people who bash folks on welfare shop at this corporation that is the biggest welfare queen on the planet? If you are in a union why would you shop at a corporation that has actually closed stores that unionized? If you work in public education why would you shop at a store that is pushing voucher programs and wants to wipe out public schools and get into the private school business? If you mourn the passing of jobs and the disappearance of the middle-class why would you shop in a store full of Third World sweatshop made goods? If you believe in social justice and saving the planet why would you shop at a store that violates human rights and pollutes our planet?

  On June 29, 2013 the United Students Against Sweatshops (USAS) took direct action about those killed in Bangladesh sweatshops. They decide to lie down outside of Gap stores in 36 U.S. cities. Their dozen bodies were to represent the 1127 bodies of workers who died in the collapse of Bangladesh’s Rana Plaza sweatshop. The sweatshop made clothes for the Gap, Sean John, Abercrombie & Fitch, Calvin Klein, Tommy Hilfiger and Walmart. Would these students action deter you from shopping at the Gap?

  If I stood outside of an area Walmart/Sam’s Club with the photos of the 1127 crushed bodies at the Bangladesh Walmart sweatshop that collapsed on the workers in April 2013 would that stop you from entering? How about photos of the 112 burnt bodies of Bangladesh Walmart workers who died in a fire in November of 2012? Let me know if this photo would make you stay out of Walmart or rip up your Sam’s Club card. That probably is no competition for the Walmart bargain of the week a 3 pack of Clorox Wipes for $9.97 rolled back from $10.72. Would it actually take the blood of the workers killed in Bangladesh poured all over the floor of Walmart/Sam’s to keep you out? If not what about the 112 dead burnt bodies stacked at the entrance? Would that be enough to keep you away from the bargain of a 46oz. jar of Baker & Chef’s Kosher Petite Pickles at Sam’s Club for $3.97? Does anyone need a 46oz. jar of pickles? In April 2011, Walmart officials at a meeting of retailers refused to join an industry agreement to pay Bangladeshi factories a higher price so they could afford safety upgrades. Walmart doesn’t care for the safety of people who make their products. Do you think they care one bit about the safety of the people who buy their products? They only care about the lead paint in Chinese toys they import when they get caught selling such items.

  Despite Walmart/Sam’s Club being on the wrong side of every social justice issue the average U.S. family of four spends over $4,000 a year at Walmart. Many activists boycott Walmart/Sam’s Club. They don’t understand why given all the facts people still shop in these stores. They are fighting a losing battle until they know why people feel compelled to shop in these stores. Come on Walmart shoppers and Sam’s Club members tell us why you shop there and what would it take to keep you from shopping at these stores? MC I am still waiting to hear from you. I have a hard time believing that anyone could not know of at least some of the evil Walmart/Sam’s Club does in the world. Given that I’m sorry MC but people who shop in these stores knowing their history are soulless because they have chosen to be disconnected from humanity.

  This week I have an award for the best local media person who values the truth and stands for social justice. That award goes to WKBN 57 am radio morning host, Mike Romigh on weekdays 6am-9am!

Maher Zain: “Hold My Hand”

“The Chosen One”

Local band: Edison’s Medicine

The more freedom we enjoy, the greater the responsibility we bear, toward others as well as ourselves.” ~ Oscar Arias Sanchez

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

