The Real Terror We Need to Fear

 

I don’t give a shit if the president
salutes with a coffee cup in his hand.
I haven’t paid one second of attention
to stories about ISIS or Ebola being a threat.
I’m more worried about a wealthy family
that is paid to store tons of fracking waste water
in huge containers a mile from my house.
I’m more worried about more area earthquakes
caused by natural gas injection wells.
I’m also worried about the infrastructure of our country
collapsing as it is not being updated or repaired.
I’m worried about crumbling reservoirs
like the one in New Orleans that couldn’t hold back Katrina
and caused over 1800 deaths.
I’m concerned about another BP oil spill
killing 11 and destroying 16,000 miles of coastline.
I’m petrified of Chevron who thinks they should
be allowed to pollute our rivers if they give
each resident 2 cases of bottled water
and two large Domino pizzas.
I’m frightened by the people
who want to expand the Keystone pipeline
even though it has already had more spills in its first year
than any other first-year pipeline in U.S. history.
It was predicted to leak once every seven years,
but instead it leaked 12 times in the first 12 months.
I’m scared about destroying mountaintops for coal
and the destruction of the Amazon Rainforest.
If global warming is a worldwide wake-up call,
our politician are narcoleptic.
We keep fucking up the atmosphere
without even a pause or a care
making Mother nature sacrifice
until we all pay the ultimate price.

I frightened by those racists that want to keep out immigrants
who just want to get jobs, support their families and pay taxes.
Yet, these racist support corporations
that want to leave the U.S. and avoid taxes.
If stopping Ebola is so important why did
Sen. James Inhofe (R-Okla.), ranking member
of the Armed Services Committee and other Republicans
withheld approval of funds to fight Ebola.
They wouldn’t give up any money from the defense budget
because it might means we wouldn’t have money to bomb
and kill some other countries people.
Conservative politician have decided it is better
to seal our borders to fight Ebola
than to spend funds to fight it in Africa.
I’m afraid because that is like Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Masque of the Red Death”.
Where the rich protect themselves and their friends in a secured castle
and celebrating their protection from the outside world.
If you’ve read the story you know it didn’t end well.

Rep. Duncan Hunter, a California Republican
lied to FOX NEWS and said 10 ISIS terrorist
crossed the border from Mexico into Texas.
FOX NEWS of course ran with the lie.
I don’t fear ISIS I fear representatives like Hunter
who think they represent the values of our citizens.
I also fear a media like FOX who won’t investigate
lies if they agree with those lies.
Credible reporting can’t get past security at FOX News.
I’m scared of Chickenhawk conservative writer
Wall Street types like Bill Kristol who would kill kittens
if it meant he thought it was going to lead to war
and make the military industrial complex richer.
I don’t fear ISIS terrorists on our borders
I fear gun nuts carrying guns into
theaters, restaurants, malls and churches.
I fear my loss of freedom being taken by the NRA
as they oppose all background checks
which might keep my family from being riddled with bullet holes
from yet another good guy with a Gun Gone Wild.

I fear those crazy militia dudes that showed up
at the Bundy ranch to protect his rights
to steal money from U.S. taxpayers.
They called themselves, Oathkeepers
Oafkeepers is more like it.
If I was a black man I wouldn’t worry about Ebola from Africa
I’d worry and fear being shot by white cops because I was African-American.
I’m not worried about an ISIS invasion of our country
I’m worried about the domestic threat to our country
from our police departments who are getting militarized.
I don’t fear Islamic Sharia Law taking my freedom.
The Supreme Court has already done that
by picking our presidents and letting
the wealthy buy our elections.
Sharia Law is just another name for the Patriot Act.
I fear the bad guys have a marketing advantage because
small thoughts are easier to fit on a bumper sticker.
When I think of small thoughts I immediately think
of crazy right-wing talk radio hosts.
I’m also frightened by their callers.
How do they dial in a straightjacket?
I heard one say the country has been going downhill
since schools and businesses started casual dress Fridays.
That is a mental call for help and a good reason these calls
should be traced and the callers given mental health help.

I’m not worried about our economy being destroyed by Islamic terrorists.
It’s already being destroyed by people who vote for politicians
that believes in exporting jobs and voting for bad trade policies.
I’m worried because good paying jobs are vanishing by our complacency.
Like the complacent working-class drunk man who sat
at the bar at the University Inn at Larchmont in Warren, Ohio.
He slurred verbal attacks against Giant Eagle which is one
of the few grocery stores in our area that has union workers.
He did this while downing Yuengling Beer
a brewer that busted its Teamster Union.
I fear the woman who bashed people using food stamps
but pays annually to be a member of Sam’s Club
one of the biggest corporate welfare queens on the block.
I am terrified of one disease that has affected
conservatives in much of the USA
that would be cranial-rectal inversion syndrome
not Ebola.

Rufus Wainwright: “Going to a Town”

“Out of the Game”

“Fear cuts deeper than swords.” ― George R.R. Martin, A Game of Thrones

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Real Terror We Need to Fear

  1. Great Column! I put”Some racists want to keep out immigrants who just want to get jobs, support their families and pay taxes. Yet, these racists support corporations that want to leave the U.S. and avoid taxes.” on FB & and link to your blog..

  2. Bonnie

    I could not have said it better!

  3. ray nakley

    Brilliant column, Jim. Incredible exposition of the total hypocrisy underlying so much of our society. Unfortunately, it is all too true. It would be hilarious if the consequences were not so grim. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

