The Encroaching American Police State

I wanted to comment on the bigger picture in the shooting of Michael Brown. I don’t think you could indict the police in the shooting of someone black or white even if you had a video. A lot of police officers don’t even live in the areas they patrol. That makes me question their commitment to those communities. Over a decade ago when I visited Mexico I learned something about their military. They were everywhere in the streets and their mission was not to protect Mexico from outside invasion. They were there to keep a lid on those who might finally get fed up at the unjust and corrupt country they were living in. As the U.S. further and further militarize our police departments I feel their mission is to keep our citizens in line in case wake up to fact that corporations and the 1% now own our country.

Richard Mellor sent me something he wrote about the Michael Brown case. It does a far better job than I could have done, at pointing out what I’m getting at about the police. I thank him for what he wrote and you can find it here.

An epidemic of police shootings.

Aorta: “My Mind’s Eye”

“Ode to Missy Mxyzosptlk”

“Most middle-class whites have no idea what it feels like to be subjected to police who are routinely suspicious, rude, belligerent, and brutal.”― Benjamin Spock

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Encroaching American Police State

  1. Jim Jordan

    Well, Jim, I don’t believe I am a racist and I don’t necessarily agree or disagree with officer Wilson–If you can, read an article last week in the Trib editorial by Dianne Dimond titled”Are people asking the correct questions about police and race?

Leave a Reply

